Aerosologist award

The NOSA Aerosologist Award

The Nordic Aerosologist Award goes to Prof Merete Bilde at Aarhus University, Denmark.

Prof Merete Bilde is awarded the Aerosologist Award 2015 for her important research on atmospheric aerosols and for her contribution to Nordic collaboration. This international prize is awarded persons for advancing and supporting aerosol science in the Nordic countries. Prof Merete Bilde has an impressive experience in the field of aerosol science where her work has significantly improved our knowledge on central processes affecting aerosol particles and their effects on climate, particularly the cloud-forming properties of aerosol particles.

The Award is given: For the support of aerosol science in the Nordic countries.

To qualify for the Award, the support of Nordic aerosol science does not necessarily restrict candidates to those who have carried out important work within pure or applied aerosol science. Also work promoting Nordic aerosol science in general will be appreciated. Interdisciplinary aerosol-related research is also considered.

All NOSA members are free to suggest candidates for the Award. Contact anyone of the board members. In particular, we encourage suggestions for female Award candidates. The Award is normally presented in connection with the NOSA Aerosol Symposia.

Previous Awards:

2015 Merete Bilde (DK)
2014 Hanna Vehkamäki (FIN)
2012 Birgitta Svenningsson (SE)
2011 Jyrki Mäkelä (FIN)
2010 Douglas Nilsson (SE)  – Educating Young Nordic Aerosol Scientists
– Atmospheric Aerosol
2009 Oliver Bischof (D)  – Aerosol Measurement
– Promoting Nordic Aerosol Science
2008 Erik Swietlicki (SE) – Atmospheric Aerosols
– Promoting Nordic Aerosol Science
2007 Finn Palmgren (DK) – Atmospheric Aerosols, in particular Aerosol and Public Health
2006 Ari Laaksonen (FIN) – Fundamental Aerosol Physics, in particular Particle and Cloud Droplet Formation
2005 Johan Ström (SE)  – Atmospheric aerosols, in particular airborne measurements
2004 Kaarle Hämeri (FIN)  – Nordic aerosol science promotion
– Atmospheric and indoor aerosols
2003 Knut Deppert (SE)  – Aerosol technology and nanoelectronics
1998 Rolf Mattson (FIN)
1996 Henning Rodhe (SE)
1995 Mats Bohgard (SE)
1994 Thomas Schneider (DK)
1993 Steinar Larsen (N)
1992 Risto Hillamo (FIN)
1991 Josef Pacyna (N)
1990 Bengt Steen (SE)
1989 Markku Kulmala (FIN)
1988 Hans-Christen Hansson (SE)
1987 Jost Heintzenberg (SE)
1986 Anders Jansson (SE)
1984 Klas Philipson (SE)

Main activities

  • Arrange Aerosol Meetings annually in one of the Nordic countries
  • Disseminate information related to aerosol research to the members of NOSA

NOSA Mission

To promote interdisciplinary and international collaboration, re-growth and education within aerosol research, and information to members and the public.

Download Statutes

Downlod the NOSA Statutes (34KB , Word document)